Louvre Abu Dhabi is a new cultural beacon, bringing different cultures together to shine fresh light on the shared stories of humanity

A pioneering cultural project – the first of its kind

The origins of Louvre Abu Dhabi date back to 2007, when France and the United Arab Emirates came together to develop a new kind of cultural institution. The result is a museum rooted in universal human values, the first of its kind in the region. Louvre Abu Dhabi represents the dynamic nature of the contemporary Arab world, while celebrating the region’s vibrant multicultural heritage.

With support and contributions from Agence France-Muséums – gathering seventeen of France’s most renowned cultural institutions – Louvre Abu Dhabi represents a unique opportunity to combine the UAE’s bold vision of cultural progression and openness with France’s expertise in the world of art and museums.

A universal museum in the Arab world

What does it mean to be ‘universal’? For Louvre Abu Dhabi, it means focusing on what unites us: the stories of human creativity that transcend individual cultures or civilisations., times or places. This ethos guides the museum in everything it does: from its foundation as a collaboration between two cultures to the dazzling architecture that combines French design with Arabic heritage.

Louvre Abu Dhabi champions the cultural achievements of mankind, from prehistory to the present day. From the start, this approach governed the choices of works for the collection and how they could come together in the museum. The galleries are not separated by geography but in chronological order. The aim is to induce respect, curiosity, learning and self-reflection.

See humanity in a new light

Our film
Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode

يُعدّ متحف اللوفر أبوظبي منارة ثقافية جديدة، تَجمع الثقافات المختلفة وتسلّط ضوءًا جديدًا على القصص المشتركة للإنسانية.

مشروع ثقافي رائد - الأول من نوعه

انطلق مشروع متحف اللوفر أبوظبي في عام 2007، عندما اتحدت فرنسا والإمارات العربية المتحدة على تطوير نوع جديد من المؤسسات الثقافية. وكانت ثمرة الاجتماعات متحفاً تضرب جذوره في القيم الإنسانية العالمية، وهو الأول من نوعه في المنطقة. ويُمثل متحف اللوفر أبوظبي الطبيعة الديناميكية للعالم العربي المعاصر، مع احتفائه بالتراث الثقافي مُتعدد الثقافات في المنطقة.

يُمثّل متحف اللوفر أبوظبي فرصة فريدة من نوعها تجمع ما بين التقدم الثقافي والانفتاح الذي تعكسه رؤية الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والخبرة الفرنسية في عالم الفن والمتاحف وذلك بفضل الدعم والمساهمات التي تُقدمها وكالة متاحف فرنسا، وهي مجموعة من السبع عشرة مؤسسة الأكثر شهرة في فرنسا.

متحف عالمي في العالم العربي

ما هي "العالمية"؟ بالنسبة لمتحف اللوفر أبوظبي، فإن العالمية تعني التركيز على ما يُوحّدنا: ويتَّضح هذا في تاريخ الإبداع البشري الذي يتجاوز الثقافات أو الحضارات أو الأزمنة أو الأماكن. وهذه الروح هي المُحرّك الحقيقي للمتحف في كل ما يقوم به: بدءاً من تأسيسه كشاهد على التعاون بين ثقافتيْن إلى العمارة المُبهرة التي تجمع بين التصميم الفرنسي والتراث العربي.

يعرض متحف اللوفر أبوظبي الإنجازات الثقافية للبشرية من عصور ما قبل التاريخ وحتى يومنا هذا. ومنذ البداية، حَكم هذا النهج اختيارات الأعمال للمجموعة المعروضة وكيفية التنسيق ما بينها. ولا يتم الفصل بين صالات العرض بحسب الجغرافيا ولكن بحسب الترتيب الزمني. والهدف من ذلك هو تحفيز روح الاحترام والفضول والتعلم والتأمّل الذاتي.

اطلعوا على تاريخ البشرية من منظور جديد

فيلمنا
Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode